Home » Around the Nation, Bottom Highlights » Minn. Gov. launches anti-bullying taskforce

Minn. Gov. launches anti-bullying taskforce

Mark Dayton

SAINT PAUL, Minn. – To address the serious problem of bullying in Minnesota’s schools, Gov. Mark Dayton has signed Executive Order 11-33, establishing the Governor’s Task Force on the Prevention of School Bullying. This task force will be charged with examining the best practices and policies that currently exist to prevent bullying and providing future recommendations to the Governor and the legislature on this subject.

“Bullying causes severe suffering and harm to the children, who are its victims; and we must do more to stop it. Children and parents in Minnesota should have confidence that their schools are safe places for learning and are free of harm or intimidation. The work of this task force is critical to ensuring that a healthy and nurturing school environment exists for every child in our state,” said Gov. Dayton.

Gov. Dayton was joined at the announcement by Tammy Aaberg, whose son Justin was a victim of bullying in the Anoka-Hennepin school district.

“Bullying is a serious issue that should be given immediate attention. Bullying and harassment happens daily in our schools and is very harmful to students, even sometimes deadly as in my son Justin’s case. I want to thank Gov. Dayton for taking the initiative in providing this executive order so that many can come together to form a plan to make our schools safer for our children. Our children deserve a safe learning environment,” Aaberg said.

“A number of states have stepped up recently and strengthened their anti-bullying laws in order to create a positive learning environment for all students,” said Rep. Jim Davnie (DFL – Minneapolis). “I am hopeful that with Gov. Dayton’s leadership, we can finally create the conditions needed for Minnesota to catch up to these other states, and more importantly, affirm the value of all our children.”

The task force will be made up of no more than 15 members, to be appointed by Gov. Dayton through the open appointments process. Members of the task force will include the commissioners of the Department of Education, the Department of Human Rights, the Department of Public Safety and members of the legislature.

Short URL: http://lgbtweekly.com/?p=18747

Posted by on Dec 15, 2011. Filed under Around the Nation, Bottom Highlights. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Pride Card Deals


LGBT Weekly Digital Magazine

© 2018 LGBT Weekly. All Rights Reserved. Log in - Website by BluSkye Group