Home » Entertainment News, Online Only, Section 4A, Top Highlights » Golden Crown Literary Awards brings together lesbian fiction pioneers Rita Mae Brown, Lee Lynch and Dorothy Allison

Golden Crown Literary Awards brings together lesbian fiction pioneers Rita Mae Brown, Lee Lynch and Dorothy Allison

Founded in 2004, The Golden Crown Literary Society is dedicated to education, promotion, and recognition of lesbian literature. The group holds an annual conference, offers writing scholarships and mentorships, and gives out awards in more than a dozen literary categories including erotica, romantic suspense, young adult, poetry, paranormal, and creative nonfiction.

Saturday nights Golden Crown Literary Awards in New Orleans brought together lesbian fiction pioneers Rita Mae Brown, Lee Lynch, and Dorothy Allison, all sharing a stage for the first time, reports the Advocate.com.

Lee Lynch | Photo: Sue Hardesty

Lee Lynch, a contributor on LGBTweekly.com , won a Goldie Award in the Non-fiction/Anthology category  An American Queer: The Amazon Trail.

Allison and Lynch together presented Rita Mae Brown with the Lee Lynch Classic Book Award for her seminal lesbian novel, Rubyfruit Jungle, and the best-selling novelist included the weekend’s best line in her speech:”Never celebrate your oppression.”

The complete list of winners is below.

Debut Author:
Just Intuition – Makenzi Fisk
Never Too Late – Julie Blair
Stick McLaughlin: The Prohibition Years – CF Frizzell

Romantic Suspense/Intrigue/Adventure:
The One – JM Dragon
Sharpshooter –  Leslie Murray
Switchblade – Carsen Taite

Undone – EM Hodge
Kissing Keeps us Afloat – Laurie McFayden

The Acquittal –  Anne Laughlin
Left Field – Elizabeth Sims
The Consequence of Murder – Nene Adams

Young Adult:
Double Exposure –  Bridget Birdsall
Riding the Rainbow – Genta Sebastian
Just Girls – Rachel Gold

Anthology/Collection (Creative Non-Fiction):
Queerly Beloved A Love Story Across Genders – Diane Anderson-Minshall Jacob Anderson-Minshall
An American Queer – Lee Lynch

The Magic Hunt – LL Rand
The Devil You Know – Marie Castle
Dogs of War – Geonn Cannon

Heart’s Surrender – Emma Weimann
Best Lesbian Erotica 2014 – Rachel Windsor
Escapades – MJ Williamz

Dramatic/General Fiction:
The War Within – Yolanda Wallace
Loved and Lost – Stephanie Kusiak
Everything – Carole Wolf

Anthology/Collection (Fiction):
Wicked Things – Jae and Astrid Ohletz
Unwrap These Presents – Astrid Ohletz and R.G. Emanuelle

Historical Fiction:
Tangled Roots – Marianne K. Martin
Waiting for the Violins – Justine Saracen
The Bright Lights of Summer – Lynn Ames

Traditional Contemporary Romance:
Kiss the Girl – Melissa Brayden
Nightingale – Andrea Bramhall
The Midnight Moon – Gerri Hill

Science Fiction/Fantasy:
FutureDyke – Lea Daley
Return of an Impetuous Pilot – Kate McLachlan
Rabbits of the Apocalypse –  Benny Lawrence

Tee Corinne Outstanding Cover Design:
Everything – Ann McMan designer

Ann Bannon Popular Choice Award:
Olive Oil and White Bread – Georgia Beers

Lee Lynch Classic Book Award:
Rubyfruit Jungle by Rita Mae Brown

Trailblazer Award:
Joan Nestle

GCLS Directors Volunteer Award: Watty Boss




Short URL: http://lgbtweekly.com/?p=62789

Posted by on Jul 31, 2015. Filed under Entertainment News, Online Only, Section 4A, Top Highlights. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Pride Card Deals


LGBT Weekly Digital Magazine

© 2018 LGBT Weekly. All Rights Reserved. Log in - Website by BluSkye Group